Australian Capital Territory

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2011 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-89

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2 Institute board

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010 governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Teacher Quality Institute.

Section 15 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Professor Denis Goodrum to the position of chair for a period of three years from the day after notification. Professor Goodrum has extensive administrative experience in various roles with the University sector. He has served on numerous state and national boards including the Board of Australian Deans of Education and the ACT Curriculum Renewal Taskforce.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.