LEGISLATION ACT 2001

TERRITORY RECORDS ADVISORY COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS 2003 (No 1) INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT 2003

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

DI 2003-59

The *Territory Records Act 2002* provides for the establishment and functions of a Territory Records Advisory Council.

Section 44 of the *Territory Records Act 2002* sets out the appointment requirements to the Council:

The Minister must appoint as a member at least 1 person to represent each of the following:

- (a) agencies;
- (b) professional organisations interested in records management and archives;
- (c) community associations interested in historical or heritage issues;
- (d) entities interested in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage. The person appointed to represent these entities must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander.

Section 46 sets out the Term of appointment of appointed members. The initial Territory Records Advisory Council will be appointed for a term of two years.

Membership

Mr George Nichols has been nominated as Chair of the Territory Records Advisory Council.

Ms Meredith Whitten has been nominated to represent Territory agencies. Ms Whitten is a public servant and therefore not included in the Disallowable Instrument.

Dr Sigrid McCausland has been nominated to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Australian Society of Archivists.

Ms Veronica Pumpa has been nominated to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Records Management Association of Australia.

Ms Jill Downer has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is nominated by the Canberra and District Historical Society.

Ms Judith Baskin has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues and is nominated by the National Trust of Australia (ACT)

Mr Lawrence Gilbert has been nominated to represent entities interested in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage. The person nominated to this position must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander. Mr Gilbert is a public servant and therefore not included in the Disallowable Instrument.

Mr David Wardle, the appointed Director of Territory Records, is a member of the Territory Records Advisory Council. Mr Wardle is a public servant and therefore not included in the Disallowable Instrument.