Racing Appeals Tribunal Appointment 2011 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-196

Made under the

Racing Act 1999, s 40 (Membership) and sch 1, s 1.1 (Tribunal members-appointment)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 38 of the *Racing Act 1999* (the Act) establishes the Racing Appeals Tribunal to hear and determine appeals from persons aggrieved by a decision of a controlling body, an approved racing organisation or another person conducting a race meeting in the ACT.

Section 40 of the Act provides that the Tribunal must consist of a president, a deputy president and 4 other members, and that the appointment and conditions of office of members of the Tribunal must be in accordance with schedule 1.

Schedule 1, clause 1.1 of the Act provides that members of the Tribunal are to be appointed by the Minister. Schedule 1, clause 1.3 of the Act provides that a member of the Tribunal must be appointed for a term not longer than 3 years.

The Minister has appointed Mr John Kalokerinos as Deputy President of the Racing Appeals Tribunal.

Under section 229 (Appointment is disallowable instrument) of the *Legislation Act* 2001 the instrument making the appointments is a disallowable instrument.

Mr Kalokerinos is not a public servant. The Standing Committee on Public Accounts has been consulted about this appointment in accordance with section 228 (Consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The appointment is for three years commencing on the day after notification of this instrument.