University of Canberra Council Appointment 2011 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2011-280

made under the

University of Canberra Act 1989, Section 11 (Constitution of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *University of Canberra Act 1989* governs the establishment and governance arrangements of the University of Canberra.

Section 11 (1) (d) of the Act requires eight appointments to be made by the Chief Minister.

This instrument reappoints Dr Sarah Ryan as a part time member of the University of Canberra Council for three years from 21 October 2011 until 20 October 2014. The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.