AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981

Physiotherapists Act 1977

INSTRUMENT NO. 226 OF 2001

Explanatory Statement

The Physiotherapists Board is established under Section 6 of the *Physiotherapists Act* 1977 (the Act). Section 7(1)(a) of the Act provides for the Board to comprise of a chairperson and three members to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*. In order to be eligible for appointment the members must be registered physiotherapists and must at all times during the period of three years immediately preceding the appointment, have been entitled, under a law of a State or Territory, to practice as a physiotherapist in that State or Territory.

This extension of Board appointments will facilitate the transition process from the existing Acts to the proposed omnibus Health Professions Bill by permitting current experienced Board members to contribute to the planning processes.

The attached instrument appoints Ms Elizabeth Anne Davies to be Chairperson of the Physiotherapists Board under Section 5 and 7 of the *Health Professions Boards* (*Procedures*) *Act 1981*, for the period from the date of gazettal of the instrument to 30 June 2002.