Tree Protection (Advisory Panel) Appointment 2012 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2012—179

made under the

Tree Protection Act 2005, s69 (1) (Members of Advisory Panel)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 68 of the *Tree Protection Act 2005* establishes the Tree Advisory Panel.

Section 69 (1) provides for the appointment of 3 or more members by the Minister.

Section 69 (2) provides for the appointments to be for a term of at least one year and not longer than two years.

This instrument appoints the following people as members of the Tree Advisory Panel from the day after its notification for a period of two years.

Dr Peter Darton Coyne Mr Phillip Wayne Unger Mr Anthony Fearnside Mr Allan Moss

Section 69 (3) provides that the Minister must not appoint a person to the Advisory Panel unless the person has extensive experience in 1 or more of the fields of (a) arboriculture, (b) forestry, (c) horticulture, (d) landscape architecture, (e) natural and cultural heritage.

Dr Coyne has extensive experience in forestry. Mr Unger has extensive experience in arboriculture and horticulture. Mr Fearnside has extensive experience in forestry. Mr Moss has extensive experience in arboriculture and horticulture.

As Dr Coyne, Mr Unger, Mr Fearnside and Mr Moss are not public servants, the *Legislation Act* 2001, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under section 229 of that Act, this instrument is a Disallowable Instrument.

Prior to making this appointment, the Minister for Territory and Municipal Services consulted with the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning, Public Works and Territory and Municipal Services in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Standing Committee on Planning, Public Works and Territory and Municipal Services supported these appointments.