Australian Capital Territory

## Education (Non-government Schools Education Council) Appointment 2012 (No 3)

**Disallowable instrument DI2012–201** 

made under the

Education Act 2004, section 109 Members of council (non-government)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Education Act 2004* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Non-government Schools Education Council.

Section 109 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This instrument appoints Dr Janet Smith for three years from the day after notification to the position of community member. The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.