AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

UNIVERSITY OF CANBERRA ACT 1989

APPOINTMENT

INSTRUMENT NO. 178 OF 2001

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Paragraph 11(1)(b) of the *University of Canberra Act 1989* (the Act) provides that the Chief Minister will appoint 10 persons to the Council of the University of Canberra.

Subsection 11(4) provides, amongst other things, that the members of the Council appointed by the Chief Minister will hold office for a period not exceeding 4 years as specified in the relevant instrument of appointment.

A vacancy has arisen on the Council of the University of Canberra for a person appointed by the Chief Minister. By this instrument, the Chief Minister appoints Ms Joycelyn Morton as a member of the Council for four years from the day on which the making of the instrument is notified in the *Gazette*.

In accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, the Chief Minister consulted the Standing Committee on Education, Community Services and Recreation regarding this appointment. The Committee considered and noted the proposed appointment.