Australian Capital Territory Bushfire Act 1936

APPOINTMENTS ACT BUSHFIRE COUNCIL

INSTRUMENT NO. 163 OF 2001

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

For the purposes of the *Bushfire Act 1936* there is established a Bushfire Council reporting to the Minister.

The role of the Council is to oversee the coordination arrangements to prevent the outbreak and spread of bushfire, and to protect life and property within the ACT from the effects of bushfires. The Council performs its duties in accordance with the Rural Fire Control Manual.

The composition of the Council is determined by the Minister. The Council consists of not less then five members and not more then twelve members. Members are appointed for three years.

This instrument appoints Mr T Bartlett, Mr I Bennett, Mr D Broderick, Dr G Cary, Mr M Castle, Mr P Catling, Ms J Collins, Mr C Davis, Dr M Gill, Mr K Jeffery, Mr R Moore and Mr B Murphy as members of the Bushfire Council under subsection 5B(1) of the *Bushfire Act 1936*.

The appointments proceeded following consultation with the Legislative Assembly Committee nominated by the Speaker, as required by the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.