Australian Capital Territory

## Public Place Names (Molonglo Valley and Stromlo Districts) Determination 2013 (No 1)

**Disallowable Instrument DI2013 - 196** 

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989 — section 3 (Minister to determine names)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine the name of a division or public place in writing. A determination is a disallowable instrument and must be notified in the ACT Legislation Register.

Pursuant to section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to delegated officers of the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate.

Section 46 of the *Legislation Act 2001* specifies that power given under an Act to make an instrument includes the power to amend or repeal the instrument.

This instrument AMENDS Public Place Names (Wright) Determination 2011 (No 1) DI2011-85 and Public Place Names (Wright) Determination 2011 (No 2) DI2011-183 by renaming the part of Uriarra Road linking John Gorton Drive to Cotter Road.

This instrument DETERMINES the names of two roads in the Molonglo Valley District (Division of Wright) and Stromlo District as specified in Schedule B and the associated plan. The theme for the naming of public places in Wright is *environment, poets and butterflies*.

The number of women and men after whom divisions or public places have been named in the last 10 years, and whether the names of women are well represented, has been considered as required by the *Public Place Names Act 1989*.

This instrument commemorates one man.