APPOINTMENT TO THE ACT HERITAGE COUNCIL

INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT 2003 (No 1)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

DI 2003 - 84

The Land (Planning and Environment) Act 1991 (the "Land Act") governs the use of land in the Territory including the conservation of the Territory's Heritage places.

Part III, section 91, of the Land Act establishes the ACT Heritage Council. Members of Council are appointed by the Minister under section 96.

Members are appointed for a maximum period of three years, after which they may be reappointed for a further maximum period of three years. A break of three years must then lapse before a member can be further re-appointed.

This instrument appoints Dr Lenore Coltheart, Mr David Flannery, Dr Warren Nicholls and Dr Sharon Payne to be members of the Council for a period of 3 years.

Section 7 of the *Subordinate Laws Act 1989* prevents a subordinate law from having effect if it would prejudice the rights of a person existing at the date of notification, or if liabilities would be imposed on a person in respect of any act or omission before the date of notification. Neither circumstance will arise from the act of appointing the persons named herein to the specified positions.