Explanatory Statement

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2013 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2013-270

made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008, section 194 (Establishment of Medicines Advisory Committee)

This Instrument, made under section 194 of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act, appoints the following persons as members of the Committee:

- Dr Rashmi Sharma;
- Dr Alexander Stevens; and
- Dr Peter Norrie.

Pursuant to section 635 of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 Dr Rashmi Sharma is appointed as Chair of the Medicines Advisory Committee.

The Minister has consulted with the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, the Australian Medical Association, the ACT Office for Women and the Office for Multicultural, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs on the appointments.

The appointments are for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification. This instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the *Legislation Act* 2001.