Australian Capital Territory

## Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Climate Change Council Membership) Appointment 2013 (No 1)

**Disallowable instrument DI2013–316** 

made under the

Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2010, s 20 (Membership)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2010* section 20 (Membership) provides for the appointment to the Climate Change Council of suitably qualified members of the community to provide advice to the Minister on issues relating to the reduction of greenhouse gases and adaptation to climate change.

In response to a substantially increased role for renewable energy presented in the policy document *AP2 - A new climate change strategy and action plan for the Australian Capital Territory*, the membership of the Council has been expanded to reflect the priorities of climate change mitigation actions presented in AP2..

This instrument appoints Mr Toby Roxburgh to the Council as an expert in renewable energy.

Mr Roxburgh is the district energy sector leader for Australia/New Zealand at AECOM consultants and the Canberra branch Chair of the Australian Institute of Energy. He has over 10 years experience in sustainable energy projects and has worked in the NSW government on cogeneration and Energy Smart Business initiatives. He has designed large scale PV and biomass plants, installed and operated gas cogeneration plants and commissioned a 20MW geothermal power station in Papua New Guinea.

This instrument also appoints Ms Dorte Ekelund to the Council as a representative of the public sector.

Prior to taking on the role of Director-General, Environment and Sustainable Development in the ACT Government, she held the position of Executive Director of the Major Cities Unit at the Department of Infrastructure and Transport. She previously held the role of the Deputy Director General of the Western Australian Department for Planning and Infrastructure, and Deputy Chief Planning Executive at the ACT Planning and Land Authority.

The appointment of Mr Roxburgh and Ms Ekelund will substantially enhance the Council's ability to provide advice on climate change issues relevant to the ACT.

Mr Roxburgh and Ms Ekelund will be appointed for a term of three years, commencing in January 2014.