Australian Capital Territory

Public Place Names (Weetangera) Determination 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2014-9

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989 — section 3 (Minister to determine names)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine the name of a division or public place in writing. A determination is a disallowable instrument and must be notified in the ACT Legislation Register.

Pursuant to section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to delegated officers of the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate.

This instrument determines the name of a public park in the Division of Weetangera as specified in the schedule and associated plan.

When naming geographic features in the ACT, including neighbourhood parks, it is desirable for the commemorated person to have had an association or connection with the named locality. The late Mrs Ellen Clark was a teacher at the first Weetangera School and had a long association with the community. The school operated on the site of this park for an overall period of 62 years.

The number of women and men after whom divisions or public places have been named in the last 10 years, and whether the names of women are well represented, has been considered as required by the *Public Place Names Act 1989*.

This instrument commemorates one woman.