Exhibition Park Corporation (Governing Board) Appointment 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2014—227

made under the

Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976, s 8 (Establishment of governing board), s 9 (Governing board members)

Financial Management Act 1996, s 78 (Appointment of governing board members generally), s 79 (Appointment of chair and deputy chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 8 of the *Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976* (the Act) establishes the governing board for the Exhibition Park Corporation (the corporation).

Section 9 of the Act requires that the governing board must have at least three and not more than five members and that the chair and deputy chair of the governing board must be appointed under section 79 of the *Financial Management Act 1996* (the FMA).

Section 78 of the FMA provides for the appointment of members to governing boards of Territory authorities generally and section 79 of the FMA provides for the appointment of chairs and deputy chairs to those governing boards. The corporation is a Territory authority for the purposes of the FMA.

This instrument appoints Mr Peter Barclay OAM as chair and Ms Robyn Hendry as deputy chair of the governing board of the corporation. The appointments will expire six months from the date of commencement.

Prior to making this appointment, the Minister for Tourism and Events did not consult with the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Public Accounts under section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*. Paragraph 227(2)(b) of the *Legislation Act 2001* provides that the requirement to consult with the relevant Legislative Assembly standing committee does not apply where a person is appointed to a statutory position for not longer than six months.

Although Mr Barclay and Ms Hendry are current members of the governing board, they have not previously been appointed to the positions of chair and deputy chair respectively, and the appointment is for six months only.

This instrument also revokes the previous appointment of Mr Barclay as deputy chair and Ms Hendry as a general member of the governing board.