Australian Capital Territory

Tree Protection (Advisory Panel) Appointment 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2014-238

made under the

Tree Protection Act 2005, s 69 (Members of advisory panel)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 68 of the *Tree Protection Act 2005* (the Act) establishes the Tree Advisory Panel. Section 69 (1) of the Act provides for the appointment of 3 or more members by the Minister. Section 69 (2) provides for members' appointments to be for a term of at least 1 year and not longer than 2 years.

This instrument appoints Dr Peter Coyne and Mr Jeffrey Albrecht as members of the Tree Advisory Panel from the day after its notification day for a period of 2 years.

Section 69 (3) of the Act provides that the Minister must not appoint a person to the Tree Advisory Panel unless the person has extensive experience in 1 or more of the fields of:

- (a) arboriculture;
- (b) forestry;
- (c) horticulture;
- (d) landscape architecture;
- (e) natural and cultural heritage.

Dr Coyne has extensive experience in forestry. Mr Albrecht has extensive experience in arboriculture and horticulture.

Neither Dr Coyne nor Mr Albrecht is a public servant, and therefore division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001* applies to their appointments.

Prior to making this appointment, the Minister consulted with the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning, Environment and Territory and Municipal Services in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.