Children and Young People (Death Review Committee) Appointment 2015 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2015-12

made under the

Children and Young People Act 2008, Section 727D (Appointment of committee members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Chapter 19A of the *Children and Young People Act 2008* (the Act) provides for the establishment of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee (the Committee). Section 727D (1) requires the Minister to appoint between 8 and 10 members to the Committee. Section 727D (2) states that the Minister must, unless it is not reasonably practicable, ensure that the Committee includes members with a range of experience or expertise, including psychology, paediatrics, epidemiology, child forensic medicine, public health administration, education, engineering and child safety products, working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and young people and a social worker and a police officer each with experience or expertise in working with children and young people and families. The Minister has taken all appropriate steps to comply with the Act.

This instrument appoints:

Professor Alison Kent (ACT Public Servant)

Dr Sue Packer (ACT Public Servant)

Ms Louise Freebairn (ACT Public Servant)

Dr Catherine Sansum (ACT Public Servant)

Ms Beth Mitchell (ACT Public Servant)

Mr Eric Chalmers

Ms Samantha Page

Dr Michael Rosier

Ms Julie Tongs

The occupant of the position Officer in Charge, Judicial Operations, ACT Policing (ACT Public Servant)

as members of the ACT Children and Young People Death Review Committee and the terms of appointment are for a period of three years in accordance with section 727D (5).

This Instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, section 229 the instrument of appointment is a Disallowable Instrument. However, six of the appointees are ACT Public Servants who have been included on the Disallowable Instrument for transparency, noting the *Legislation Act 2001* 19.3.3 does not apply to public servants.

The ACT Remuneration Determination 9 of 2012 (Part-time Public Office Holders) has granted a per diem payment of \$675 to members of the Committee who are not public servants. Committee members who are ACT Public Servants will not be remunerated.

Division 19.3.3, section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001* requires that appointments to statutory positions made by the Minister be made after consultation with a Standing Committee of the Legislative Assembly. The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People considered the appointments on 10 December 2014 and advised that in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Committee noted the information provided and offered no comment or specific recommendation regarding the proposed appointments.

This Disallowable Instrument is necessary to provide the appointees with the statutory authority to perform the functions of ACT Children and Young People Death Review Committee members pursuant to the provisions of the *Children and Young People Act* 2008.