Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2015 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2015-43

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, s 4.38, schedule 4 (Membership of council) and s 4.39, schedule 4 (Chairperson and deputy chairperson of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All States and Territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils. The Professional Standards Councils will be comprised of one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

South Australia has appointed Mr Terry Evans as a member from 22 December 2014 to 31 December 2017.

The Northern Territory has appointed Mr Iain Macgregor Summers as a member from 1 January 2015 to 31 December 2017.

New South Wales has appointed Mr Brian Rayment QC as a member and chairperson from 1 January 2015 to 31 December 2017.

The instrument appoints Mr Evans, Mr Summers and Mr Rayment QC as members of the Professional Standards Council from the day after notification and ending on 31 December 2017. The instrument also appoints Mr Rayment QC as chairperson for the same period. This appointment ensures that South Australia, the Northern Territory and New South Wales are represented on the ACT Council.

The Minister is satisfied that Mr Evans, Mr Summers and Mr Rayment QC have the experience, skills and qualifications to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

Mr Evans, Mr Summers and Mr Rayment QC are not public servants as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*. As required by the Legislation Act, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment. The Committee has provided no comment on the appointment.