Australian Capital Territory

Health (Local Hospital Network Council – Chair) Appointment 2015 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2015–54

made under the

Health Act 1993

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument is made under section 18 of the Health Act 1993.

Part 3A of the *Health Act 1993* establishes the ACT Local Hospital Network Council. The Chair and Deputy Chair of the ACT Local Hospital Network Council are appointed by the Minister for Health under section 18.

This instrument re-appoints Dr Ian Pryor as Chair of the ACT Local Hospital Network Council for a period of one year. Dr Pryor has expertise in clinical matters. Dr Pryor is also re-appointed under a separate instrument as a member of the Local Hospital Network Council for a further year.

Dr Pryor has an excellent understanding of the issues facing the ACT Health Care sector. He is a past president of the ACT AMA and past Chair of the ACT General Practice Forum, and was also a member of the ACT Health Council. Dr Pryor also established and owned a multi service medical centre (Tuggeranong Square Medical Practice). He was also a GP, and undertook obstetrics at the Canberra Hospital for the period 1989 to 2001. Dr Pryor has also actively led and participated in a range of high level Boards and Committees.

The appointee is not an ACT Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly under section 229 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This re-appointment has been approved by the ACT Minister for Health and the Standing Committee on Health, Ageing, Community and Social Services has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (Consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.