Australian Capital Territory

Public Place Names (Moncrieff) Determination 2015 (No 6)

Disallowable Instrument DI2015-233

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989 — section 3 (Minister to determine names)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine the name of a division or public place in writing. A determination is a disallowable instrument and must be notified in the ACT Legislation Register.

Pursuant to section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to delegated officers of the Environment and Planning Directorate.

This instrument determines the names of seven roads in the Division of Moncrieff as specified in the schedule and associated plan.

The number of women and men after whom divisions or public places have been named in the last 10 years, and whether the names of women are well represented, has been considered as required by the *Public Place Names Act 1989*.

This instrument commemorates two women, three men, a women's band and an Aboriginal musical instrument.