Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Climate Change Council Chair and Member) Appointment 2016 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2016-182

made under the

Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2012, s20 (Membership) and s21 (Chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Overview

The Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2010 (the Act) section 20 (Membership) provides for the appointment to the ACT Climate Change Council (Council) of suitably qualified members of the community to provide advice to the Minister on issues relating to the reduction of greenhouse gases and adaptation to climate change. The appointment for the non-public employee members of the Council is by way of a disallowable instrument which must be notified and tabled in the Legislative Assembly under the Legislation Act 2001 (Legislation Act).

Section 21 of the Act requires the Minister to appoint a member of the council to be the chair of the council. Section 20 of the Act provides that the Minister may appoint a person as a member to the Council only if satisfied that the person is committed to addressing climate change and has knowledge and experience in an area relevant to the operation of the Act.

Appointments

The disallowable instrument appoints Professor Barbara Norman (currently a member of the Council) as Chair and Ms Karen Jesson as a member of the Council. Neither Professor Norman nor Ms Jesson are public servants.

Professor Norman is appointed as Chair until 1 March 2018, in line with her appointment to the Council, (Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Climate Change Council Membership) Appointment 2015 (No 1)).

Professor Norman is the Foundation Chair of Urban and Regional Planning in the Faculty of Business, Government and Law at the University of Canberra. Professor Norman is Director of Canberra Urban and Regional Futures (CURF) and an Adjunct Professor with the Australian National University (ANU). Professor Norman is a Life Fellow and past National President of the Planning Institute of Australia and a Life Honorary Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute (UK).

Professor Norman advises public and private sectors in Australia and has strong international linkages within Asia, Europe and the United States. She was a contributing author to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Fifth Assessment Report (AR5) Working Group 2 (WGII) "Impacts", 2014, and was awarded an Australian Centenary Medal for her contribution to the community through urban and regional planning.

Ms Karen Jesson is appointed to the Council, until 30 June 2019, to represent the community. Ms Jesson is a Community Development Officer with Communities@Work. She also works with the Land Development Agency to deliver the Mingle Community Development Program, in the new and emerging community of Wright & Coombs.

Ms Jesson has worked in the area of Community Development for the past 9 years, working with a variety of groups in the ACT. She has qualifications in community development and management as well as permaculture design and home sustainability assessment. She has been on the Canberra Environment Centre Committee and the Tuggeranong Community Council.

Ms Jesson has contributed to the development and delivery of some key projects within the ACT, such as the Tuggeranong 55 Plus Club, Outreach Water & Energy Program, Tuggeranong Men's Shed, 50+ Network (research project). She established the Sustainability Network, which saw members from a variety of local agencies come together to connect, share and learn. Two key outcomes were achieved through this initiative; the development of Canberra Loves 40% and Canberra City Farm.

A Regulatory Impact (RIS) is not required for this disallowable instrument as it is unlikely to impose appreciable costs on the community (section 34(1) of the Legislation Act). Further, in accordance with section 36(1)(b) of the Legislation Act, a RIS is not necessary as the matter does not operate to the disadvantage of anyone by adversely affecting the person's rights or imposing liabilities on the person.

The Minister consulted the Standing Committee on Planning, Environment and Territory and Municipal Services in accordance with section 228 of the Legislation Act (Consultation with appropriate Assembly committee).

Outline of provisions

Section 1 – Name of instrument

This section names the instrument.

Section 2 – Commencement

This section provides for the commencement of the instrument

Section 3 – Climate Change Council chair appointment

By this section the Minister appoints Professor Barbara Norman as Chair of the Council until 1 March 2018.

Section 4 – Climate Change Council member appointment

By this section, the Minister appoints Ms Karen Jesson to be a member of the Council until 30 June 2019.