## Radiation Protection (Council Member) Appointment 2016 (No 2)

**Disallowable instrument DI2016–239** 

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 68 (Council members)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Radiation Protection Act 2006* (Radiation Act) governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council (the Council).

The Council has the following functions: issuing licences; registering regulated radiation sources; providing advice to Minister on radiation issues; and exercising any other function allocated to it under the Radiation Act or another territory law.

Section 68 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint the Council members. The Council must include a member of the public, a radiologist, an expert person who has knowledge of the physical properties and or the biological effects of radiation and another person whom the Minister believes has particular qualifications or experience that would assist the Council undertaking its functions. Each Council member is appointed for a period of not more than three years.

The appointee is not an ACT Government public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for Health, and the Standing Committee on Health, Ageing, Community and Social Services has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

Dr Stephen Tims is appointed as a member of the Council for a term commencing on 1 December 2016 and ending on 30 September 2018. All members of the Radiation Council are part time.

Dr Stephen Tims is appointed to the Council as a person who has expert knowledge in the physical properties of radiation.