Radiation Protection (Chair of Council) Appointment 2016 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2016–241

made under the

Radiation Protection Act 2006, s 70 (Chair and Deputy Chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

This instrument, made under section 70 of the *Radiation Protection Act 2006* (Radiation Act) appoints the following member of the Radiation Council as the Chair of the Council:

• Ms Elizabeth Croft

The Radiation Council is established by section 65 of the Radiation Act. Members are appointed to the Council in accordance with section 68 of the Radiation Act. The Council has the following functions: issuing licences; registering regulated radiation sources; providing advice to the Minister on radiation issues; and exercising any other function allocated to it under the Radiation Act or another territory law.

Ms Elizabeth Croft is appointed as a member of the Council until 30 September 2018 in accordance with section 68 (2)(d) of the Radiation Act as a person who has qualifications and experience relevant to assisting the Council carry out its functions.

Section 70 of the Radiation Act provides the Minister with the power to appoint a Council member to be Chair of the Council.

Pursuant to section 70 (1) of the Radiation Act, Ms Elizabeth Croft is appointed as Chair of the Council until 30 September 2018 when her term of appointment as a Council member will end.

The appointee is not an ACT Government public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001* section 229 this instrument is a disallowable instrument.