Electoral Commission (Chairperson) Appointment 2017 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2017-22

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, section 12 (Appointment)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the Executive to appoint a chairperson to the Electoral Commission. This instrument appoints Mr Roger Beale AO as chairperson of the Electoral Commission. The appointment commences on 3 March 2017 and ends on the 3 April 2017.

Section 12(2) of the Electoral Act 1992 requires that, before a new chairperson is appointed, the Speaker consult with the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition and with the leader of any other registered party if at least 2 members of the Legislative Assembly are members of the party. The Speaker undertook this consultation and no objections to the proposed reappointment were received. The appointment is made on the advice of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument.