## **Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2017 (No 1)**

**Disallowable instrument DI2017–118** 

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, schedule 4, s 4.38 (Membership of council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

All states and territories have enacted legislation which provides for the establishment of Professional Standards Councils. The objects of the professional standards legislation is to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All states and territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils. The Councils will comprise one member nominated by each of the states and territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which nominate two.

Ms Joanne Metcalfe's membership on the ACT Council expires on 30 June 2017. The instrument reappoints Ms Metcalfe as a member of the ACT Council from 1 July 2017 until 30 June 2018.

The Minister is satisfied that Ms Metcalfe possesses the experience, skills and qualifications to enable her to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

Ms Metcalfe is not a public servant as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*. As required by section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment.