ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2017 (No 4)

Disallowable instrument DI2017-214

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2, sections 14 and 15 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78 and 79.

Explanatory Statement

The ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010 (the Act) governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Teacher Quality Institute.

Section 15 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

The vacancy has arisen with the expiration of Ms Lyn Caton's term as the member on the Board nominated under section 15(2)(g) of the Act by the NSW/ACT independent Education Union.

This instrument appoints Ms Berna Simpson to fill the vacancy on the Board for a period of three years from the day after notification. Ms Simpson has been nominated by the NSW/ACT Independent Education Union under section 15(2)(g) of the Act.

Ms Simpson is a former school teacher and currently Organiser for the Independent Education Union and has the qualifications and expertise relevant to the functions of the Institute Board.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a Disallowable Instrument for the purpose of Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Standing Committee on Education, Employment and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.