Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2018 (No 4)

Disallowable instrument DI2018-29

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, schedule 4, s 4.38 (Membership of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

All states and territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT Council). The ACT Council consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT Council.

All states and territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils. The Professional Standards Councils will be comprised of one member nominated by each of the states and territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which nominate two.

South Australia has appointed Mr Terry Evans as its representative to the Professional Standards Councils until 31 December 2020.

The instrument appoints Mr Evans as a member of the ACT Council from the day after notification until 31 December 2020.

The Minister is satisfied that Mr Evans possesses the experience, skills and qualifications to enable him to contribute to the work of the ACT Council.

Mr Evans is not a public servant as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*. As required by the Legislation Act, the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment. The Committee has provided no comment on the appointment.