Canberra Institute of Technology (Institute Board Chair) Appointment 2018

Disallowable instrument DI2018-203

made under the

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, s 9 (Establishment of institute board)

Financial Management Act 1996, s 79 (Appointment of Chair and Deputy Chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 (the Act) and the Financial Management Act 1996 provide for the establishment and appointment of the governing board members including the chair and deputy chair.

This instrument appoints Craig Sloan as Chair of the Institute Board for a period of three years. In accordance with section 12 of the Act Craig Sloan (Chair) is a non-elected member and has expertise and knowledge of industry and business.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3, applies and is a disallowable instrument.

The person appointed is not a public servant.