Tree Protection (Advisory Panel) Appointment 2018 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2018-252

made under the

Tree Protection Act 2005, s 69 (Members of advisory panel)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 68 of the *Tree Protection Act 2005* (the Act) establishes the Tree Advisory Panel. Section 69 (1) of the Act provides that the advisory panel consists of 3 or more members appointed by the Minister. Under section 69 (2) of the Act, members must be appointed to the advisory panel for a term of at least 1 year and not longer than 2 years.

Section 69 (3) of the Act provides that the Minister must not appoint a person to the Tree Advisory Panel unless the person has extensive experience in 1 or more of the following fields:

- (a) arboriculture;
- (b) forestry;
- (c) horticulture;
- (d) landscape architecture;
- (e) natural and cultural heritage.

This instrument reappoints Dr Peter Coyne as Chair and Ms Hayley Crossing as a member of the Tree Advisory Panel for two years after the date of notification.

Dr Coyne has qualifications in forestry and extensive experience in the management of ecological and conservation values. He has spent much of his working career with the Australian National Parks and Wildlife Service, Environment Australia and Parks Australia.

Ms Crossing has extensive experience as an arborist and Landscape Architect. Ms Crossing's employment history includes a range of private and civil projects in NSW as well as the ACT.

Neither Dr Coyne nor Ms Crossing are public servants. Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001* applies to these appointments. Prior to making this appointment, in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister consulted the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services.