ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2019 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2019-11

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2, sections 14 and 15 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78.

Explanatory Statement

The ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010 (the Act) governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Teacher Quality Institute.

Section 15 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister. Section 15(2)(d) requires the Minister to appoint a member nominated by the Association of Independent Schools of the ACT.

The vacancy has arisen with the resignation of Ms Anne Coutts as the member on the Board nominated by the Association of Independent Schools of the ACT under section 15(2)(d) of the Act.

This instrument appoints Ms Rita Daniels, Chair of the AIS Board and Principal, Daramalan College to fill the vacancy on the Board for a period of three years from the day after notification. Ms Rita Daniels has been nominated by Association of Independent Schools of the ACT under section 15(2)(d) of the Act.

Ms Daniels has strong experience as an educator and school leader, having held principal positions in ACT secondary schools since 2008. Her qualifications include: Bachelor of Arts, Diploma of Education, Diploma of Theology and a Master of Education.

Ms Daniels was a member of the ACT Board of Senior Secondary Studies for over 20 years till 2017 and is a member of the Marymead Board.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a Disallowable Instrument for the purpose of Division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Standing Committee on Education, Employment and Youth Affairs was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.