ACT Teacher Quality Institute Board Appointment 2021 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2021-197

made under the

ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010, Division 3.2, sections 14 and 15 and Financial Management Act 1996 section 78.

Explanatory Statement

The ACT Teacher Quality Institute Act 2010 (the Act) governs the establishment, functions and membership of the ACT Teacher Quality Institute.

Section 15 of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

The pending vacancy has arisen with the expiry of the term of Professor Ting Wang as the member on the Board nominated by the University of Canberra section 15(2)(h). Professor Wang's term expires on 17 May 2021.

This instrument appoints Professor Barney Dalgarno, to fill the vacancy on the Board for a period of three years from 5 June 2021.

Professor Barney Dalgarno: Professor Dalgarno is Executive Dean, Faculty of Education at the University of Canberra (UC) in the provision of Initial Teacher Education and Post Graduate Education and TESOL programs, in the undertaking of Educational Research particularly in STEM education and Sustainable Communities, in supporting Doctoral Candidates, and in collaborating with Schools and School Leaders.

Professor Dalgarno has held leadership positions at Charles Sturt University (CSU) in the areas of learning and teaching excellence, academic quality and innovation, and online learning. He has international influence through research leadership, keynote presentations, assessing of teaching awards and research grants, editorship of the Australasian Journal of Educational Technology (AJET) and membership of journal editorial review boards and conference program committees.

Professor Dalgarno is or has been a member of editorial boards and review panels for educational journals and conferences in Australia, UK, US, Greece, Italy, Taiwan, Singapore and Canada, assessed educational research grants for the Australian, Canadian, Hong Kong, Singaporian, Austrian and Netherlands research councils, examined doctoral theses for nine universities and was lead editor of the AJET journal 2012 to 2016.

Current position

Executive Dean, Faculty of Education at the University of Canberra

Work History

- 2020-2021: Executive Dean, Faculty of Education, UC
- 2019 -2020: Deputy Pro Vice Chancellor Learning and Teaching Jan 2020, CSU
- 2018-2019: Acting Pro Vice Chancellor Learning and Teaching, CSU
- 2017-2018: Professor and Director Learning Online, Division of Learning and Teaching, CSU
- 2014-16: Professor and Co-Director ulmagine, Division of Learning and Teaching, CSU
- 2009-2014: Sub Dean then Associate Dean Curriculum Learning and Teaching Faculty of Education, CSU
- 2014: Acting head of School, School of Education, CSU
- 2007-14: Senior Lecturer then Associate Professor in Education School of Education, CSU
- 1998-2006: Lecturer then Senior Lecturer in Information Technology then Associate Head of School, School of Information Studies, Charles Sturt University
- 1994-1998: Information Technology Officer then IT Support Team Leader, Information Services Division, UC
- 1991-1994: Computing Studies and Mathematics Teacher; Wade High School, Griffith, NSW
- 1987-1990- Various graduate roles within the Information Technology industry in Canberra.

Qualifications

- PhD, Faculty of Education, University of Wollongong, 2004 Title: Characteristics of 3D Environments and Potential Contributions to Spatial Learning
- Master of Information and Technological Sciences, University of Canberra, 1997 -Title: *Development of Constructivist Computer Assisted Learning Resources: Theory, Technique and Tools*
- Graduate Diploma in Education, University of Canberra, 1990
- Bachelor of Science, Computer Science major, Australian National University.

The Legislative Standing Committee on Education and Inclusion was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.