Emergencies (Bushfire Council Members) Appointment 2021 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2021-232

made under the

Emergencies Act 2004, s 129 (Bushfire council members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Bushfire Council, established under section 127 of the *Emergencies Act 2004*, has the function of advising the Minister about matters relating to bushfires.

Under section 129 (1) of the *Emergencies Act 2004* the Minister must appoint members of the ACT Bushfire Council. Under section 129 (2) the Minister must try to ensure that people with particular skills, interests and experience are among the members appointed. The appointments are made according to these requirements.

The instrument appoints Sally Troy as the Chairperson of the ACT Bushfire Council. The appointments commence on 1 October 2021 and expire on 30 September 2025.

The instrument appoints Dylan Kendall as the Deputy Chairperson of the ACT Bushfire Council. The appointments commence on 1 October 2021 and expire on 30 September 2025.

The instrument appoints Tony Bartlett, Kylie Coe, John Brickhill, Andrew Giekie, Len Morris, Asha Naznin and Marta Yebra, as Members of the ACT Bushfire Council. The appointments commence on 1 October 2021 and expire on 30 September 2025.

Sally Troy has a contemporary skills and experience in emergency management, representing the community's interest in the environment and representing the community. She has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council with the move towards an All-Hazards advisory Council.

Dylan Kendall has contemporary skills and experience in fire sciences, land management, fighting in rural environment and indigenous land management. He has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council.

Tony Bartlett has served on the ACT Bushfire Council since 1999 and is eligible for re-appointment in accordance with Section 128 and 129 of the ACT Emergencies Act 2004. Dr Bartlett has skills and experience in fire behaviour, fighting fires in a rural

environment and land management. He has demonstrated suitability for reappointment to the ACT Bushfire Council.

Kylie Coe has served on the ACT Bushfire Council since 2017 and is eligible for reappointment in accordance with Section 128 and 129 of the ACT Emergencies Act 2004. Ms Coe has contemporary skills and experience in town planning in the ACT environment.

John Brickhill has contemporary skills in environmental science and land management and has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council. Mr Brickhill has been, and is, involved in several community groups with a focus on the environment (Landcare and National Parks Association).

Andrew Giekie has contemporary rural land holder experience and fire fighting in rural environment through being a volunteer with the ACT Rural Fire Service. His nomination has been strongly supported by the Rural Landholders Association of the ACT.

Len Morris has contemporary skills and experience in emergency management, representing the community's interest in the environment and representing the community. He has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council.

Asha Naznin has contemporary skills in environmental science and experience in representing the community. She has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council.

Marta Yebra has a contemporary skills and experience in fire sciences and bushfire management. She has demonstrated strong suitability for appointment to the ACT Bushfire Council.

Sally Troy, Dylan Kendall, Tony Bartlett, Kylie Coe, John Brickhill, Andrew Giekie, Len Morris, Asha Naznin and Marta Yebra, are not public servants as defined under the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointments as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Committee advised that it had no concerns with the appointments.