Board of Senior Secondary Studies Appointment 2021 (No 4)

Disallowable Instrument DI2021-261

made under the

Board of Senior Secondary Studies Act 1997, Section 8 Membership of board

Explanatory Statement

The *Board of Senior Secondary Studies Act 1997* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Board of Senior Secondary Studies.

Section 8 of the *Act* deals with appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

This vacancy has arisen due to the resignation and subsequent repeal of Mr Hugh Boulter as the member on the Board nominated under Section 8 (1) (I) of the *Act* by the Association of Parents and Friends of the ACT Schools.

The repeal of the Board of Senior Secondary Studies Appointment 2019 (No 3) DI2019-241 was advised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel's Office.

Under Section 8 (1) (I) the Association of Parents and Friends of the ACT Schools was consulted as a representative body in the *Act*. The letter requested a nominee and it was noted the criterion for membership as set out in Section 8 (3) of the *Act* which states,

The Minister may appoint a person to be a board member only if satisfied that the person has qualification and expertise relevant to the function of the board.

This instrument appoints Mrs Yvonne Jansen as a member of the ACT Board of Senior Secondary Studies for a period of three years commencing the day after notification.

The appointee is not a public servant and the determination is a disallowable instrument for the purpose of division 19.3.3 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Education and Community Inclusion was consulted and has no objections to the appointment.