Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Advisory Council Appointment 2022 (No 3)

Disallowable instrument DI2022-55

made under the

Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004, section 11 (Advisory Council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council (the Council) is established under section 11 of the *Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004* (the Act). Under subsection 11 (2) of the Act, the Council consists of eight (8) members, appointed by the Minister for Health.

The purpose of the Act is to designate the ACT as an area in which certain genetically modified (GM) food plants may not be cultivated, in order to preserve the identity of GM and/or non-GM crops for marketing purposes.

The instrument appoints Professor Ian Cockburn to be a member of the ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council until 2 May 2025.

Professor Cockburn was nominated by a university based in the ACT who has professional skills or experience in research in a field relevant to gene technology. Professor Cockburn is not a public servant.