Australian Capital Territory

Heritage (Council Member) Revocation 2022 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2022–260

made under the

Heritage Act 2004, section 17 (Members of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Overview

Section 16 of the *Heritage Act 2004* (the *Act*) establishes the ACT Heritage Council (the *council*). Members of the council, including the chairperson and deputy chairperson, are appointed by the Minister under section 17 of the Act.

Under section 208 (1) (b) of the *Legislation Act 2001*, an appointer's power to make an appointment includes the power to end the appointment. That is, section 208 deems the Minister's power to make an appointment to the council in section 17 of the Act to include the power to end the appointment.

Appointment revocation

This instrument has been made by the Minister for Heritage. Following a review into the workings of the council and its supporting government agency (the ACT Heritage Unit), the Minister for Heritage has decided to dissolve the current council.

This instrument revokes the *Heritage (Council Member) Appointment 2020 (No 2)* [DI2020-134], which appointed Professor Roslynne Hansen to be a member of the council for the period 12 June 2020 to 11 June 2023.