## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

## **ELECTORAL ACT 1992**

## INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT

## **INSTRUMENT NO. 190 OF 1999**

The *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the establishment of the Electoral Commission. The Commission consists of the Chairperson, the Electoral Commissioner and one other member. Appointments are made by the Executive and may be made for a maximum of five years. An instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument.

The appointments of Graham Glenn as Chairperson and Christabel Young as member expired on 17 May 1999.

Although these are Executive appointments and not subject to the requirements of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, the *Electoral Act 1992* specifically requires that before any person is appointed the Minister shall consult the leader of each political party represented in the Legislative Assembly; and all members of the Legislative Assembly who are not also members of such a party. The Attorney-General undertook this consultation in June 1999 and there were no objections to the proposed reappointments of Mr Glenn and Dr Young.

On 26 July 1999, pursuant to section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992*, the Australian Capital Territory Executive re-appointed Graham Gordon Glenn as Chairperson and Christabel Marion Young as a member of the Commission both for a period of five years.