Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2024 (No 8)

Notifiable instrument NI2024-482

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, Schedule 4, s 4.38 (Membership of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Professional Standards Councils are constituted under state and territory professional standards legislation. There are eight Councils – one in each state and territory. The objects of the Professional Standards Councils are to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers of professional services across Australia.

Section 4.36 of Schedule 4 to the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (ACT PSC). The ACT PSC consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT PSC.

Members of the Councils are appointed by the relevant Ministers in each state and territory. All states and territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their professional standards councils. The Professional Standards Councils are comprised of one member nominated by each of the states and territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

New South Wales has appointed Ms Caroline Lamb as a member of its Professional Standards Council until 30 September 2024.

The instrument appoints Ms Caroline Lamb as a member of the ACTPSC until 30 September 2024.

The Minister is satisfied that Ms Lamb possesses the experience, skills and qualifications to enable her to make a contribution to the work of the ACTPSC.

Ms Lamb is not a public servant as defined under the Legislation Act 2001.

Due to the amendments progressed in the *Justice and Community Safety Legislation Amendment Act 2021*, the requirement for consultation with the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety does not apply to the appointment of a person who is already a member of an appropriate council in another jurisdiction to the roles of member, Deputy Chairperson or Chairperson of the ACTPSC.