APPOINTMENTS TO THE NURSES BOARD

OF THE

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

INSTRUMENT NO. 110 OF 1999

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Nurses Act 1988* (the Act) provides for the registration and enrolment of nurses, the supervision of nursing education and standards, and for related purposes.

Section 6 of the Act establishes the Board. Section 7 of the Act provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 7(1)(a) of the *Nurses Act 1988* (the Act) requires that the chairperson and 4 other members of whom not more than 2 may be enrolled nurses, be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

Paragraph 7(1)(b) provides for 4 members to be elected in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980.* Subsection 7(2) of the Act provides that a person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered or enrolled nurse; and the person was at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years entitled under the law of a State or Territory, to practise nursing in that State or Territory.

Subsection 8(1) of the Act provides that a person is not eligible for appointment as a Chairperson unless the person is a registered nurse. Subsection 8(2) specifies that the Chairperson shall be the executive officer of the Board.

The positions of chairperson and four appointed members on the Nurses Board of the ACT became vacant on 27 June 1999 when the current terms of appointed members expire. Vacancies to the Board were notified by newsletter to all registered and enrolled nurses which was posted on 9 March 1999. Closing date for nominations was 24 March 1999.

Ten applications were received which included two applications for the position of Chairperson. All applications are of a high standard and all applicants are suitable for appointment. Two of the current serving members did not re-nominate for appointment for personal reasons.

Mrs Meg Skegg, the current serving chairperson is re-appointed to that position. Her current professional position is that of Director of Nursing at John James Memorial Hospital.

Ms Margaret Proctor is re-appointed as a member for a second term on the Board. Ms Proctor's professional position is as a Senior Lecturer in Nursing at the University of Canberra.

Ms Jill Parke is re-appointed as a member to the Board for a further three year term. Ms Parke's appointment is supported and facilitated by the ACT Branch of the Australian Nursing Federation. Ms Parke is employed as a Level 3 Nurse, Clinical Nurse Consultant in the Outpatients Department at The Canberra Hospital.

Ms Margaret Lowrey, an enrolled nurse is appointed to the Board. Ms Lowrey is currently employed as an enrolled nurse within ACT Mental Health Services at Watson and Hennessy House.

Ms Susan Gosling is appointed as a member to the Board. Ms Gosling is currently the Associate Director of Nursing Surgical & Acute Services at Calvary Hospital.

Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years commencing 28 June 1999 to and including 27 June 2002.

After consideration by Cabinet these appointments to the Board were forwarded to the Speaker for referral to the Standing Committee for Health and Community Care.