AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

NATURE CONSERVATION ACT 1980

FLORA AND FAUNA COMMITTEE - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER

INSTRUMENT NO.45 OF 1999

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Nature Conservation Act 1980* calls for the establishment of the Flora and Fauna Committee.

Section 15E (1) of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint seven members, two of whom shall not be public servants.

The members must have appropriate expertise in biodiversity or ecology, and will hold office as a part-time member for a period not exceeding three years.

This appointment follows the resignation of a member, as provided by section 15L of the Act.