### AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## **Drugs of Dependence Act 1989**

# APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO TREATMENT ASSESSMENT PANELS

#### **INSTRUMENT NO. 31 OF 1999**

#### EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Each Treatment Assessment Panel comprises two experienced treatment workers and one legal practitioner. Section 130 of the Drugs of Dependence Act 1989 (the Act) details the requirement as follows:

- (1) The Minister shall, in writing, establish such treatment assessment panels as are necessary for the purposes of this Part.
- (2) A panel shall consist of-
- (a) a legal practitioner; and
- (b) 2 other persons, each of whom has, in the opinion of the Minister, extensive knowledge of-
- (i) the physical, psychological and social problems connected with the abuse of drugs of dependence or prohibited substances;
- (ii) the treatment of persons suffering from such problems; or
- (iii) health education in relation to such problems.

#### Section 131 of the Act details that:

- (1) The Minister may, in writing signed by the Minister, appoint persons to be members of panels.
- (2) A person shall be appointed as a part-time member.
- (3) The Minister shall not appoint as a member a person who-
- (a) has been convicted in Australia or elsewhere at any time within the previous 5 years of an offence punishable on conviction by imprisonment for a period of not less than 1 year; or
- (b) is otherwise not, in the opinion of the Minister based on reasonable grounds, a fit and proper person to be a member of a panel.

Four individuals are appointed as new members of a Treatment Assessment Panel pursuant to Section 131 of the Act. They are:

Michele Hall Treatment Worker
Tami Jakobson Treatment Worker
Glenda McCarthy Treatment Worker
Elizabeth Skinner Treatment Worker

Eight individuals who were previously appointed as members to a Treatment Assessment Panel are re-appointed pursuant to Section 131 of the Act. They are:

Maurie O'Connor Treatment Worker
Janet Smith Treatment Worker

Jillian Fleming Treatment Worker

Lynne Magor-Blatch
Nerida Knight
Adrian Bruce Vincent
Russell Thomas Bayliss
Greg Brackenbreg

Treatment Worker
Legal Practitioner
Legal Practitioner
Legal Practitioner

Section 133 of the Act details that:

The Minister shall appoint 1 member of each panel to be the presiding member of that panel.

Of the above eight members re-appointed pursuant to Section 131 of the Act, two were also previously appointed as a presiding member pursuant to Section 133 of the Act. They are now also re-appointed as presiding members pursuant to Section 133 of the Act. They are:

Janet Smith Treatment Worker Lynne Magor-Blatch Treatment Worker

Of the above eight members re-appointed pursuant to Section 131 of the Act, one is appointed as a new presiding member pursuant to Section 133 of the Act. They are:

Maurie O'Connor Treatment Worker

Section 134 of the Act details that:

- (1) The Minister may, in writing, appoint a person to act as the presiding member of a panel-
- (a) during a vacancy in the office of presiding member, whether or not an appointment has previously been made to the office; or
- (b) during any period, or during all periods, when the presiding member is absent from duty or from the Territory or is, for any other reason, unable to perform the functions of the office; but a person appointed to act during a vacancy shall not continue so to act for more than 12 months.