DRUGS OF DEPENDENCE ACT 1989

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE DRUGS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

INSTRUMENT NO. 13 OF 1999

The Drugs Advisory Committee (the Committee), which is established under section 66 of the *Drugs of Dependence Act 1989*, is a statutory committee appointed by the Minister for Health and Community Care.

The Committee consists of three medical practitioners, one of whom must be a psychiatrist, and another of whom must be a nominee of the Australian Capital Territory Branch of the Australian Medical Association.

The Committee's function is to advise the Chief Health Officer on the prescription of drugs of dependence and to ensure that such prescription is consistent with high standards of ethical practice.

The Committee is able to deal with referrals from the Chief Health Officer, as well as to settle appeals lodged against decisions of the Chief Health Officer in regard to the prescription of drugs of dependence. The Committee has the power to direct the Chief Health Officer to grant, vary or refuse an application from a medical practitioner to prescribe a drug of dependence.

The previous Committee comprised three honorary members who are specialists in clinical practice-

Dr Stephen J Rosenman, MD (Syd) FRANZCP Dr Heather J Lopert, MB ChB (VU Manc) LRCP&S (Edin) DA(Lond) FFARACS FANZCA; and

Dr Richard G Pembrey AM, MB BS (Lond) MD (Adel) FRACP FRCPA - Nominee of the ACT Branch of the Australian Medical Association.

The three year terms of appointment of the previous Committee expired on 27 September 1998. An advertisement calling for expressions of interest for the two vacant positions on the Committee was placed in the Canberra Times on Saturday 15 August 1998.

All three members of the previous Committee applied to continue to serve on the Committee. The Australian Capital Territory Branch of the Australian Medical Association re-endorsed Dr Richard Pembrey as its nominee to the Committee. No other applications were received.

Appointment of Dr Rosenman, Dr Lopert and Dr Pembrey to the Committee is for a period of three years, commencing from the date of the Instrument of Appointment.

In accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care has considered the apppointments and has no objections.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au