## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

# Health Act 1993

## APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE ACT HEALTH AND COMMUNITY CARE ETHICS COMMITTEE

#### **INSTRUMENT NO. 2 OF 1999**

#### **EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM**

The ACT Health and Community Care Ethics Committee ("the Committee") is appointed under Section 7(a) of the *Health Act 1993*.

The Committee sits to consider research protocols, and operates in accordance with guidelines from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NH&MRC).

Under NH&MRC guidelines, members of the Committee should include a layman and laywoman not associated with health institutions, a minister of religion and lawyer and a medical graduate with research experience. The ACT Committee also comprises an ACT Community Care representative, a Chief Pharmacist, and representatives from Medical, Clinical and Nursing Services of The Canberra Hospital.

The Government has appointed Associate Professor Nicholas Glasgow and Associate Professor Robin Stuart-Harris as Members, of the Committee.

Professor Nicholas Glasgow is the Associate Professor and Chair, Academic General Practice Unit, Canberra Clinical School of the University of Sydney. Professor Glasgow is appointed as the ACT Community Care representative.

Professor Robin Stuart-Harris is the Senior Staff Specialist, Medical Oncology Unit at The Canberra Hospital. He is a visiting physician in medical oncology at St John of God Hospital, Goulburn, NSW and is a Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Sydney. Professor Stuart-Harris is appointed as the Medical and Clinical Services representative of The Canberra Hospital.

Consultation with the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care has taken place in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.