#### **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

#### **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

# **CONSUMER CREDIT (ADMINISTRATION) ACT 1996**

## INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT

## **INSTRUMENT NO. 247 OF 1998**

The Australian Capital Territory Credit Tribunal (the Credit Tribunal) was established under the *Credit Act 1985*. It continues in existence by force of section 60 of the *Consumer Credit (Administration) Act 1996*. The Credit Tribunal hears certain kinds of disputes between parties to a credit transaction. The Credit Tribunal also holds disciplinary inquiries into the conduct of credit providers.

The Credit Tribunal consists of a Chairperson and two members. Provision is also made for an Acting Chairperson and two acting members who act on the Tribunal in the event of a vacancy or absence.

This instrument appoints:

#### LISBETH ELLEN CAMPBELL

to act as a member and as Chairperson of the Credit Tribunal for the purposes of subsection 68(1) of the *Consumer Credit (Administration) Act 1996* during any period or during all periods when the Chairperson is absent from duty or from the Territory or is, for any reason, unable to perform the duties of the office.

Pursuant to section 4 of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994* the ACT Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted concerning the appointment. The Committee has advised that it has no objection to the appointment.