

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

BOARD OF SENIOR SECONDARY STUDIES ACT 1997

APPOINTMENTS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Instrument No 157 of 1998

The Board of Senior Secondary Studies Act 1997 established a Board to undertake accreditation and registration of courses for recognised educational institutions, the provision of procedures for the assessment of senior secondary students, the issue of certificates of attainment and the provision of advice to the Minister on related matters. Administrative procedures are provided for the review of decisions to refuse accreditation and to review decisions to refuse a certificate.

Section 4 of the Act established the Board of Senior Secondary Studies and section 8 provides for the appointment of a chairperson and members to the Board by the Minister.

The Minister has appointed the following members to the Board until 31 December 2000:

Ms Wendy Coutts Member
Mr Christopher Watt Member

Section 11 provides for the Minister to appoint alternate members to the Board. The Minister has appointed the following as alternate members until 31 December 2000:

Ms Phillipa Reid Alternate Member Mr David Edmunds Alternate Member

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Standing Committee on Education was consulted on the appointments.