## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 Physiotherapists Act 1977

## APPOINTMENTS TO THE PHYSIOTHERAPISTS BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## **EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM**

The Physiotherapists Act 1977 (the Act) provides for the registration of physiotherapists

Section 6 of the Act establishes the Physiotherapists Board (the Board) Section 7 of the Act provides for the constitution of the Board and requires that the Chairperson and three other members be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards* (*Procedures*) Act 1981.

Subsection 7(2) provides that a person is not eligible for appointment unless currently registered and for a period of 3 years immediately preceding his or her appointment has been registered as a physiotherapist under the law of a State or Territory

Vacancies on the Board were notified by a notice mailed to all registered physiotherapists. The positions of chairperson and the three appointed members on the Board become vacant on the 17th June 1998.

In making the appointments consideration was given to gender equity (however no males submitted nominations) representation from different aspects of physiotherapy practice and the continuity of Board business

Four persons nominated for positions on the Board, Ms Davies, principal of her private practice is currently the Chairperson of the Board and has sought a further term of office

Ms Scarvell (nee Roberts), physiotherapist at The Canberra Hospital, is currently a member of the Board and is seeking a further term of office.

Ms Bolger, physiotherapist at the Calvary Hospital, is currently a member of the Board and is seeking a further term of office

Ms Trickett, is a physiotherapist in a managerial position at The Canberra Hospital, is a barrister and is seeking to become a member of the Board

All applicants are eligible for appointment. Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years commencing from the date of the Instrument of Appointment.

After consideration by Government the appointments were referred to the Committee on Health and Community Care in accordance with the Statutory Appointments Act 1994