## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 Podiatrists Act 1994

## APPOINTMENTS TO THE PODIATRISTS BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

The positions of chairperson and three appointed members on the Board become vacant on 21 June 1998. Paragraph 7(1)(a) of the *Podiatrists Act 1994* (the Act) requires that a chairperson and 3 other members be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Board (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration of podiatrists and for related purposes. All registered podiatrists were notified by circular of the forthcoming vacancies to the Board. The closing date for nominations was 9 March 1998.

Four applications were received for appointment to the four vacancies. All applications are of a high calibre and all applicants are eligible for appointment.

The current Board comprises one male and two female appointed members, and one female community representative. One male appointed member, Mr Richard Lee resigned from the Board in November 1997, for personal reasons. The Board determined not to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Mr Lee, as the Board had only two meetings prior to the expiration of members terms of appointment on 21 June 1998, and the vacancy was considered not to affect the functioning of the Board.

The current chairperson Ms Sandra Moffat, has carried out the responsibilities of chairperson over the last three years in a highly dedicated manner, and it is suggested that she be reappointed to the position of chairperson. It is further suggested that Ms Louise Volk be reappointed to the Board as she has provided a valuable contribution to the Board since her appointment.

Mr Benjamin Balthazaar has not renominated for appointment. It is suggested that Ms Susan Nancarrow and Ms Janet Wall be appointed to the Board in the positions left by Mr Balthazaar and Mr Lee.

Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years commencing from the date of the Instrument of Appointment, to and including 20 June 2001.

After consideration by Government the appointments were referred to the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*. The Committee had no objections to the appointments proceeding.