## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 Psychologists Act 1994

## APPOINTMENTS TO THE PSYCHOLOGISTS BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

The positions of chairperson and five professional members on the Board become vacant on 27 June 1998. Paragraph 7(1)(a) of the *Psychologists Act 1994* (the Act) requires that a chairperson and 5 other members be appointed in accordance with the *Health Professions Board (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration of psychologists and for related purposes. All registered psychologists were notified by circular of the forthcoming vacancies to the Board. The closing date for nominations was 19 February 1998.

Fifteen applications were received for appointment to the six vacancies. All applications are of a high calibre and all applicants are eligible for appointment.

In considering the applicants regard was given to gender representation, representation from the various employment sectors, areas of speciality, as well as the degree of commitment of the individual in maintaining high standards within the profession. The current Board comprises two female and four male appointed professional members.

The current chairperson Professor Don Byrne, has carried out the responsibilities of chairperson over the last three years in a highly dedicated and professional manner. It is suggested that he be reappointed to the position of chairperson. It is further suggested that Colonel Wallace Hall, Dr Consuelo Barreda-Hanson and Mr Marshall O'Brien be reappointed to the Board as all members have provided a valuable contribution to the Board since their appointment.

The reappointment of four of the current members of the Board for a further period of 18 months, ensures that valuable experience and the benefits of continuity remain with the Board. In a Board as young as the Psychologists Board, such continuity and experience are highly valuable.

Mr Brian Hodge and Ms Moyna Glenn have not renominated for appointment. It is suggested that Ms Adele Hamilton and Mr Thomas Sutton be appointed to the Board in these positions.

Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years commencing from the date of the Instrument of Appointment, to and including 26 June 2001.

After consideration by Government the appointments were referred to the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*. The Committee had no objections to the appointments proceeding.