AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Act 1993

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO THE ETHICS COMMITTEE OF THE A.C.T.

Instrument No.'s 14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24, & 25 of 1997

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

The ACT Ethics Committee ("the Committee") is appointed under Section 7(a) of the *Health Act 1993* This provides a protective framework for quality assurance committees

The Committee sits to consider research protocols, and operates in accordance with guidelines from the National Health and Medical Research Council (NH&MRC)

Under NH&MRC guidelines, membership of the Committee should include a layman and laywoman not associated with health institutions, a minister of religion and lawyer and a medical graduate with research experience. The ACT Committee also comprises a community representative and the Chief Pharmacist and representatives from Medical, Clinical and Nursing Services of The Canberra Hospital

Nominees for membership to the Committee were sought through a public notice in *The Canberra Times* of 3 August 1996 Invitations for nominations were also sent to the ACT Churches Council, the Law Society of the ACT and current members

The Government has appointed Ms Elizabeth Grant AM as chair, and Dr Graham Reynolds, Ms Susan Alexander, Mr Vincent Sharma, Dr Janet Mould, Rev Bruce Ball, Ms Jillian Fleming, Ms Anne Gardner, Mr Justin Keller, Mr David Nott, Ms Camilla Webster and Mr John Gray as Members, of the Committee

Ms Elizabeth Grant is currently a Director with Commerce Management Services She is a registered pharmacist, a member of the Pharmacy Board of the ACT and a Life Member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia Ms Grant has been active in many roles in the Community and was awarded the honour of Member of the Order of Australia in 1987 She has been a member of the NH&MRC and served on a number of the Council's Committees including the Medical Research Ethics Committee She is currently a member of the Committee and her appointment as Chair provides continuity Ms Grant has been appointed as the Laywoman on the Committee

Dr Graham Reynolds is the Director of the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at
The Canberra Hospital He is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians
and is a Senior Lecturer at the Canberra Clinical School He is currently a member of the
Committee Dr Reynolds is appointed as the Medical Graduate with Research Experience

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

Mr Vincent Sharma is the Director of Legal Services with Comcare He was admitted to the Bar in 1991 He is a founding member of the Law Council's Commonwealth Law Employment sub-committee Mr Sharma is appointed in the position of Lawyer on the Committee on the nomination of the Law Society of the ACT

Reverend Bruce Ball is the Minister for the North Woden Parish of the Uniting Church in Australia He has been responsible for developing community needs assessments, counselling and advocacy services for people with mental illness and the development of self-help programs He was nominated by the ACT Churches Council

Mr Justin Keller is a retired school principal He was Director of the ACT Schools Authority's Quality Education Program in the 1980s He also operated EDINFORMA, an educational consultancy firm, following his retirement from the ACT Department of Education He is nominated as a Layman on the Committee

Ms Camilla Webster is a Senior Assistant Parliamentary Counsel for the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department She has a Masters of Laws from Cambridge University She is nominated as a Lawyer on the Committee

Mr John Gray is currently managing a consultancy practice providing advice to the drug industry. He is recently retired from the Therapeutic Goods Branch of the Commonwealth's (former) Department of Health and Human Services. This has provided Mr Gray with experience in drug evaluations and clinical trials.

The Appointments are valid for three years from the date of appointment as recorded on the Instruments of Appointment

The Committee also comprises a number of officers who are appointed by virtue of their position. Dr David Nott is a Senior Clinician, Ms Anne Gardner is a senior nurse, Ms Susan Alexander is the Chief Pharmacist, and Dr Janet Mould is Senior Medical Executive, at The Canberra Hospital, and Ms Jillian Fleming is from the ACT Alcohol and Drug Service

After consideration by Government the appointments were referred to the Social Policy Committee in accordance with the Statutory Appointments Act 1994

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au