AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Radiation Act 1983

APPOINTMENTS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Instrument No's 59, 60, & 61 of 1997

The Radiation Act 1983 governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council.

Section 8(2) of the Act deals with the appointment of members and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister.

Section 8(3) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding 3 years, of the term of office of the appointee

The Minister has appointed Mrs Jean Bennett and Mr Joseph Lising as members of the Radiation Council for a period of three years from 12 April 1997

In addition, Section 9(1) of the Act requires that the Minister appoint one of the members to be Chairperson of the Council Mr Lising has been appointed as Chairperson.

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Social Policy Committee was consulted on the appointments.