## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## **NATURE CONSERVATION ACT 1980**

## FLORA AND FAUNA COMMITTEE – APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON, DEPUTY CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS

INSTRUMENT NOS. 5 AND 6 OF 1998

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The Nature Conservation Act 1980 calls for the establishment of the Flora and Fauna Committee.

Section 15E (1) of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint seven members, two of whom shall not be public servants.

The members must have appropriate expertise in biodiversity or ecology, and will hold office as a part-time member for a period not exceeding three years.

Section 15F (1) of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint from the members a Chairperson and a Deputy Chairperson, who shall not be public servants.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au